Cyprus is an Independent Presidential Republic. The Executive power is exercised by the Council of Ministers whose members are directly appointed by the President.

The highest legislative body is the House of Representatives, consisting of fifty-nine members elected for a five-year term of office.

Independence August 16, 1960 Constitution August 16, 1960 Branches Executive President elected to 5-yr. term


Unicameral House of Representatives members elected to 5-yr. terms


Supreme Court; six district courts

Administrative Subdivisions SixPolitical Parties Greek Cypriot CommunityDemFBStic Rally (right)
DemFBStic Party (centre-right)
AKEL (communist)
KISOS (socialist)
United DemFBSts (centre-left)Turkish Cypriot Community

National Unity (right)
DemFBStic party (centre-right)
Republican Turkish (left)
Communal Liberation (centre-left)
National Revival (centre-right)
Patriotic Unity Movement (left)
National Justice Party (ultra-nationalist)

SuffrageUniversal at age 18


Foreign MinisterGeorge IacovouMinister of FinanceMichalis SarrisMinister of Commerce, Industry &TourismYiorgos LillikasMinister of Communications & WorksHaris ThrasouMinister of Justice & Public OrderDoros TheodorouAmbassador to the United StatesEuripides L. EvriviadesPermanent Representative to the UNAndreas Mavroyiannis

President of the RepublicTassos Papadopoulos

Principal Government Officials

Follow the links below to go to the relevant section:

(updated 1st quarter 2006)

Contact one of our officers to initiate the incorporation of a Cyprus registered company and start reaping the full benefits of an onshore, low-tax, EU jurisdiction. Simply fill in the contact box below or contact us by email on

Is your message urgent?

  • Your Name (required)
  • Your Email (required)
  • Your Mobile
  • Subject
  • Your Message
  • Input this code      captcha